PRESS RELEASE

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA Kevin P. Dempsey, Clerk 46 East Ohio Street Room 116 Indianapolis, IN 46204

The Hon. Frank J. Otte to Retire December 31

After 28 years of service as a United States Bankruptcy Judge, including two years in recall status, and a 48 year career in the law, the Honorable Frank J. Otte will retire on December 31, 2014. In recognition of his achievements and contributions to the bench and bar, the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Indiana will host a private retirement celebration in Judge Otte's honor on Friday, December 5.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit appointed Judge Otte to a 14-year term as a Bankruptcy Judge for the Southern District of Indiana on October 1, 1986, and he was reappointed to a second term on October 1, 2000. Judge Otte served as Chief Judge from July 1, 1996, to June 29, 2003. He assumed recall status on January 1, 2013. Current Chief Judge Robyn L. Moberly remarked on his impending departure:

"The bankruptcy bench and bar have been fortunate to have had the steady leadership and thoughtful jurisprudence of Judge Frank J. Otte for the past 28 years. Most of the practitioners in our court cannot recall a time when Judge Otte wasn't on the bench. He guided many young bankruptcy lawyers to become outstanding practitioners, and he's been a wonderful mentor to each of the other bankruptcy judges. I recall many times when Judge Otte and I would share an elevator ride and he'd remark rhetorically with a broad smile on his face: 'Isn't this a great job we have?' We are so fortunate to count him as a colleague and a good friend. His presence here will be sorely missed."

Judge Otte received his undergraduate degree from Indiana University in 1960 and his law degree from the Indiana University Maurer School of Law in 1966. He also served in the United States Army from 1960 until 1963. Judge Otte began his legal career in private practice in 1966, a path he remained on until his appointment to the bankruptcy bench in 1986.